ChatGPT vs Gemini: $20 against $19.99, and one of them includes 2TB of storage
ChatGPT Plus is $20 and Google AI Pro is $19.99. The penny is irrelevant. What matters is that Google bundles 2TB of cloud storage and NotebookLM Plus into the same price.
Verdict
ChatGPT Plus is $20 and Google AI Pro is $19.99. Google bundles 2TB of storage and NotebookLM Plus at that price. ChatGPT has an $8 tier below; Google has two Ultra tiers above.
At a glance
| Criterion | ChatGPTCheaper entry | Google GeminiBetter bundle |
|---|---|---|
| Standard plan price | $20/mo | $19.99/mo |
| What else is in the box | Nothing | 2TB storage, NotebookLM Plus |
| Deep Research on the standard plan | Included, limits apply | 20 sessions a day |
| Cheapest paid tier | Go, $8 | AI Plus, $4.99 or $7.99, disputed |
| Middle tier | Pro Codex $100 | AI Ultra $100, 5x limits |
| Top tier | Pro Max $200 | AI Ultra $200, 20x limits |
| Streaming bundled | No | YouTube Premium on both Ultra tiers |
| Team plan | Business $20/user annually, 2 seat minimum | Through Google Workspace, priced separately |
| Pricing clarity | All tiers published plainly | AI Plus price reported inconsistently |
| Full review | Coming soon | Coming soon |
What the winner gets right, and where it falls short
What works
- At the standard tier the price difference is one cent, so neither is meaningfully cheaper for the assistant itself
- Google AI Pro bundles 2TB of storage, which is real money if you were paying for cloud storage separately
- ChatGPT Go at $8 gives a genuine budget option where Google's equivalent tier has unclear pricing
What does not
- Google publishes two different plans both called AI Ultra, at $100 and $200, which is easy to buy wrong
- Google's AI Plus price is reported as both $4.99 and $7.99 and is not stated in Google's own I/O 2026 announcement
- Neither company's team pricing is straightforward: ChatGPT needs two seats, Google routes you through Workspace
The one cent is not the story#
2TB
What Google adds at the same price
$19.99 buys the assistant and the storage. $20 buys the assistant.
ChatGPT Plus is $20. Google AI Pro is $19.99. Ignore the penny.
What matters is what comes in the box:
| ChatGPT Plus, $20 | Google AI Pro, $19.99 | |
|---|---|---|
| The assistant | Yes | Yes |
| Cloud storage | — | 2TB |
| NotebookLM Plus | — | Included |
| Deep Research | Included, limits apply | 20 a day |
Google One 2TB on its own has historically cost around $9.99 a month. So if cloud storage is something you already pay for, roughly half of AI Pro is buying something you were buying anyway, and the AI half is effectively costing you about ten dollars.
If you do not want the storage, this advantage is worth nothing to you and the two plans are the same price for the same thing.
Below $20, ChatGPT is clearer#
| Cheapest paid | |
|---|---|
| ChatGPT | Go, $8 — published, unambiguous |
| AI Plus — $4.99 or $7.99, sources disagree |
Google's I/O 2026 announcement describes AI Plus receiving new features but does not state its price. Independent trackers report both figures confidently.
We are not going to pick one. But for a buyer, the practical difference is real: you can find out what ChatGPT Go costs in ten seconds, and you cannot do that for AI Plus.
Above $20, Google has the middle rung#
| $100 | $200 | |
|---|---|---|
| ChatGPT | Pro Codex, coding focus | Pro Max |
| AI Ultra, 5x Pro limits | AI Ultra, 20x Pro limits |
Both companies stop at $200, so the ceiling is the same.
The difference is what $100 buys. OpenAI's $100 tier is specialised — Pro Codex is aimed at heavy coding. Google's $100 tier is simply less of the same thing, at 5x rather than 20x.
If your use is coding, Pro Codex is built for you. If your use is general and you just want more headroom than $20 provides, Google's $100 Ultra is the more natural step.
The bundles pull in different directions#
This is the honest way to choose between them.
Google AI Pro is a bundle. Storage, NotebookLM, the assistant, and on Ultra, YouTube Premium. It is good value if you want those things and dead weight if you do not.
ChatGPT Plus is a single product. You are paying for the assistant and nothing else. That is worse value on paper and cleaner if you already have storage sorted.
So:
- Already paying Google for storage → AI Pro is the obvious pick
- Already on iCloud, Dropbox or nothing → the bundle is irrelevant, judge on the model
Which to actually pick#
| Your situation | Pick |
|---|---|
| You pay for cloud storage anyway | Google AI Pro $19.99 — you are buying two things |
| Budget under $20 | ChatGPT Go $8, because Google's price there is unclear |
| You live in Google Workspace | Google, for the integration alone |
| Coding is the main use | ChatGPT Pro Codex $100 |
| You want more headroom, general use | Google AI Ultra $100 |
| Genuinely undecided | Run one real task on both free tiers for a week |
Neither of these is a bad choice at $20. The bundle is the only structural difference, and whether it counts depends entirely on whether you wanted the things inside it.
Tool by tool
ChatGPT
Cheaper entryGo at $8 is a real step between free and $20 that Google does not clearly match. The Plus plan is a bare AI subscription with nothing bundled.
- Starting price
- Free, Go $8, Plus $20, Pro $100 to $200
- Best for
- Anyone wanting a paid plan under $20, or breadth across many kinds of work
Google Gemini
Better bundleAI Pro includes 2TB of storage and NotebookLM Plus at the same price ChatGPT charges for the assistant alone. Both Ultra tiers add YouTube Premium.
- Starting price
- Free, AI Plus disputed, AI Pro $19.99, Ultra $100 and $200
- Best for
- Anyone who would pay for cloud storage anyway, or works inside Google Workspace
Frequently asked questions
- Is ChatGPT or Gemini cheaper?
- At the main plan, they are the same: ChatGPT Plus is $20 and Google AI Pro is $19.99. Google is effectively cheaper because AI Pro also includes 2TB of cloud storage and NotebookLM Plus, which ChatGPT Plus does not. Below that tier ChatGPT is clearer, with Go at $8 against a Google AI Plus tier whose price is disputed.
- Does Gemini really include 2TB of storage?
- Yes, Google AI Pro at $19.99 bundles 2TB of cloud storage along with NotebookLM Plus and 20 Deep Research sessions a day. Google One 2TB on its own has historically sat around $9.99 a month, so if you already needed the storage, roughly half the subscription is paying for something you were buying anyway.
- Which has the better top tier?
- They now match at $200: ChatGPT Pro Max and the higher Google AI Ultra. Google is the only one of the two with a genuine middle option, because it has a second Ultra tier at $100 with 5x limits. Both Google Ultra plans also include YouTube Premium.
- Which should a small business choose?
- If you already run on Google Workspace and want the storage, AI Pro at $19.99 is the better value because you are buying two things. If you want the cheapest workable paid plan, ChatGPT Go at $8 has no clear equivalent. If neither applies, test both free tiers on your real work for a week.

Written by
Tashawar Awais
Researcher and editor
Tashawar handles verification and editing. Every figure in a review is checked a second time before it goes out, and anything that cannot be traced to a vendor page or a documented source is either qualified or cut. Where pricing is genuinely unclear, as it is with Canva team plans or Close CRM tiers, the article says so and tells the reader to confirm directly instead of quoting a number with false confidence.
- Second check on every published figure
- Removes claims the sources do not support
- Flags pricing that changes without notice